Lakshmi Subramanian CMU-Africa Student Excellence Award

The Lakshmi Subramanian CMU-Africa Student Excellence Award is given to students that demonstrate strong leadership, academic excellence, and exceptional contributions to student life.

CMU-Africa faculty recommend students for this prestigious award. Awardees are selected based on who is considered to have best inspired their fellow students to a love of learning through a combination of intellect, high scholarly achievement, engagement with the CMU Africa community, and character.

Previous award recipients:

  • Medhn Hadush (E'23, MSEAI): Awarded in 2023
  • Muhammad Omer (E'23, MSEAI): Awarded in 2023
  • Miquilina Anagbah (E'23, MSECE): Awarded in 2023
  • Arisema Mihretu (E'23, MSIT): Awarded in 2023
  • Ayobami Esther Olanrewaju (E'22 MSIT): Awarded in 2022
  • Favour Aderinto (E'22 MSECE): Awarded in 2022
  • Segla Boladji Trinite Adjibi Vinny (E'21, MSIT): Awarded in 2021
  • Abrham Gebreselasie (E'21, MSECE): Awarded in 2021
  • Clare-Joyce Ngoran (E'21, MSECE): Awarded in 2021
  • Timothy Odonga (E’20, MSECE): Awarded in 2020
  • Marlise Montcho (E’20, MSIT): Awarded in 2020
  • Oluwafunmilola Kesa (E’19, MSECE): Awarded in 2019
  • Agatha Niwomugizi (E’19, MSIT): Awarded in 2019
  • Gifty Buah (E’18, MSECE): Awarded in 2018
  • Fred Otieno (E’18, MSIT): Awarded in 2018
  • Joan Rachel Nkiriki (E’17, MSECE): Awarded in 2017
  • Davy Uwizera (E’17, MSIT): Awarded in 2017

Jeremiah N. Mpagazehe Rising Researcher Award

The Jeremiah N. Mpagazehe Rising Researcher Fund annually provides a monetary award to a deserving graduating student at CMU-Africa who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship through their research contributions and entrepreneurial activity.

The award was established in honor of the late alumnus and faculty member Jeremiah N. Mpagazehe.

Previous award recipients:

  • Pamaly Zantou (E'23, MSECE): Awarded in 2023
  • Faith Bagire (E'22, MSECE): Awarded in 2022
  • Agripinna Mwangi (E'21, MSECE): Awarded in 2021
  • Oluwafemi Azeez (E’20, MSECE) Awarded in 2020
  • Daniel Omeiza (E’19, MSIT): Awarded in 2019
  • Brian Otieno (E’18, MSIT): Awarded in 2018
  • Kizito Masaba (E’17, MSECE): Awarded in 2017